Dear world,

I have perfectly abysmal taste in music. I KNOW THIS. And while normally I am totally okay with the fact that my listening habits match those of a 16 year old girl who steals her mom’s top 40 records from the 90s, with Riot Fest happening this weekend I am starting to realize that I need to broaden my horizons a bit. Granted, I can listen to pretty much whatever is on at the time and enjoy it, but I don’t know enough about anything to listen to different artists with a purpose.

Right now what I’ve been doing is listening to CHIRP radio online, and trying to make note of the songs that I really like, and then googleling the hell out of them to try and find something similar. But that only gets me so far.

So, dear readers, I need your help! What should I be listening to?

To give you an example of the hole that I am currently in, I have listed my go-to Spotify playlist below. I am not knocking on any of the songs on here (obviously I love them), I am simply using this list as an example of where I am right now, musically speaking.

(the list is really long, so I am putting it at the bottom)

But seriously, I promise that I do like to listen to lots of different things, I just don’t usually. So, if you have any suggestions on where to begin, pass them along!  Somebody told me that I need/ought to buy a record player too. So then I could have albums. I miss albums.  Although then that opens up a whole other can of worms, yeah? And nobody likes worms.

So what’s good?

Many thanks and much love,

me 🙂

Adele – Rumour has it, Set fire to the rain, Someone like you, Rolling in the deep
Aerosmith – I don’t want to miss a thing
Alanis Morissette – You oughta know
Bad Meets Evil – Lighters
Barenaked Ladies – BBT theme, One week, It’s all been done
Beastie Boys – Intergalactic
Bjork – Army of me, Human behavior, Army of me Sucker Punch remix
Cameo – Word up
Carly Rae Jepsen – Call me maybe
Christia Aguilera – Genie in a bottle
The Cranberries – Linger
Deee-Lite – Groove is in the heart
Deep Blue Something – Breakfast at tiffany’s
DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince – Summertime
Elton John – Bennie and the jets, Rocket man, Tiny dancer, Daniel, Your song
Eve 6 – Inside out
Flo Rida – Good feeling
Fun. – Some nights, We are young
Green Day – Basket case
Jason Mraz – Summer breeze, I won’t give up, Butterfly, I’m yours
Jay-Z, Empire state of mind
Katy Perry – Teenage dream, TGIF, Firework, Wide awake, Hot n cold
Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners – Come on Eileen
Lada Gaga – You and I
The Lemonheads – It’s a shame about Ray, Mrs Robinson
LMFAO – Party rock anthem
Lou Bega – Mambo no 5
Maroon 5 – Moves like Jagger, Payphone, Harder to breathe, This love
Mike Mentzer – Storm of the century, Intertwine, Mutual, I’ll see you again, These eyes
N Sync – Tearin up my heart
NKOTB – Step by step
Nicki Minaj – Starships
Oasis – Wonderwall
One Direction – What makes you beautiful
R Kelly – I believe I can fly
The Rolling Stones – Under my thumb, Gimme shelter, Paint it black, (I can’t get no)satisfaction, Everybody needs somebody to love, Susie Q, Wild horses, Start me up, Beast of burden, Time is on my side
Seal – Kiss from a rose
Sinead O’Connor – Nothing compares 2 u
Sisqo – Thong song
Smash Mouth – All star
Soft Cell – Tainted love
Spin Doctors – Two princes
Tears for Fears – Everybody wants to rule the world
Tiffany – I think we’re alone now
TLC – waterfalls, ain’t 2 proud 2 beg
Train – Drive by, Hey soul sister, words, half moon bay, meet virginia
Was (Not Was) – Walk the dinosaur

