Tags

, , , , ,

There’s something that is always nice about going home for a weekend.  Especially a holiday weekend.  ESPECIALLY a holiday weekend that is closely tied in with a birthday.  And of course that’s the food.  Ohmygosh I love food. Duh.  This trip home had some pretty specific fun food things going on as well.

First, I convinced mom to buy a couple of pineapples so that I could cut them.  I’ve never cut a pineapple before, and I wanted to try it. Plus, pineapples are just cool.  Good thing dad likes them, because otherwise that would have been kind of a waste of five dollars.  But it was still fun!  I did one in chunks and one in rings.  They both look weird, and who knows how they taste.  Dad likes them, but he might have just been being nice.  Bonus was that they got me all sticky.  Rachel being sticky was sort of a theme for the day on Satuday (first the pineapple, then BBQ sauce, then jello).

getting ready to decapitate the first pineapple

pineapples getting ready for decapitation

pineapples successfully chunked and ringed! Well, ringed minus taking out the cores.

pineapples successfully chunked and ringed! Well, ringed minus taking out the cores.

The second fun thing was jello.  I have always kind of had a thing for making jello creations. Can’t help it, jello is just cool.  Even the jello goldfish scenes that I used to make. They were cool looking, but if you tried to eat them, they were sort of gross.  Course, the normal looking jellos I make are tasty – AND the 13 layer jello. Holy crap that takes like four days to make, but SO worth it.  Plus jello shots.  Those are good too. 🙂  I didn’t make anything that fun yesterday, just mini-jigglers for the birthday cake (and snacks) and then two 2-layer jellos.  I haven’t taken the 2-layers out yet – here’s hoping they didn’t bleed like crazy (I was sort of impatient).

ahhh yes, the jello project has begun!

ahhh yes, the jello project has begun!

mini jellos (not shots!) waiting

mini jellos (not shots!) waiting

the two 2layer jellos waiting for their next layer of jello-y goodness

the two 2layer jellos waiting for their next layer of jello-y goodness

I didn't actually find a way to use the No Fear in the jello - maybe next time

I didn't actually find a way to use the No Fear in the jello - maybe next time

dad's minijello birthday cake

dad's minijello birthday cake

we weren't sure if the candle would melt the jello, but it seemed to work okay

we weren't sure if the candle would melt the jello, but it seemed to work okay

My parents have pretty much the most awesome deck in the whole world.  And no, I’m not just saying that because I helped to build the darn thing.  But come on!  It’s got like five different levels AND a screen house area.  How could that not be awesome?  Plus dad has a grill the size of a volkswagon.  So of course there’s a lot of eating on the deck.

dad in his element in front of the ginormous grill

dad in his element in front of the ginormous grill

the grill was rather packed full of tasty goodness

the grill was rather packed full of tasty goodness

So yeah, that’s food at mom and dad’s place.  We’ll probably eat more before I go, but these were the fun bits.

Enjoy!

